Cato Lifetime Achievement in Teaching Award

The Cato Lifetime Achievement in Teaching Awards recognize exceptionally creative teachers who have a distinguished career of more than 15 years teaching the arts, sciences or history or who have demonstrated creative infusion of the Arts, Sciences or History into the core curriculum.

Three $5,000 awards are presented every three years through the support of ASC’s Cato Excellence in Teaching Endowment. The awards will be presented in the Fall of 2020.

Eligibility Criteria

  • Eligible teachers must be a Pre-K through 12th grade teacher working for (or retired within the last 2 years from) a public or independent school in Mecklenburg, Cabarrus, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln or Union counties in North Carolina or Lancaster or York counties in SC.
  • Nominees should exhibit a career marked by innovation and excellence in teaching focused on the Arts, Sciences or History or creative infusion of the Arts, Sciences or History into the core curriculum; school and community leadership; and dedication to the field of education.


Nominations can be submitted to or online and must include:

  • Nomination form
  • Curriculum Vitae
  • Statement of Teaching Philosophy
  • Three (3) Letters of Recommendation (1 school administrator, 1 teaching colleague and 1 other)

Download a nomination form OR Nominate a teacher online.

Online Nomination Note: You will not have the ability to save and go back using the online form.  Please make sure you have all of your materials ready so the submission can be done at one time.

Deadline for receipt of all materials is 5:00 p.m., Friday, March 13, 2020.

Recipients include:



Windy Fullagar (Arts)

Ann Jacob (History)

Julie McConnell (Science)



Byron Baldwin (Arts)

Andrew West (History)

Elizabeth Withrow (Science)


For more information on the Cato Lifetime Achievement in Teaching Award, contact Erin Elliott at or 704-335-3058.