ASC Announces Board Leadership and New Directors for 2020-21

Categories: Blog
By Bernie Petit
Communications Manager

ASC is pleased to announce the leadership of its Board of Directors and new board members for fiscal year 2020-21.

ASC Board Chair Susan Patterson
ASC Board Chair Susan Patterson

Susan Patterson, a longtime community leader who retired as the John S. and James L. Knight Foundation program director for Charlotte in 2015, serves as board chair.

Before working at the Knight Foundation, Patterson’s career in journalism included roles at The Charlotte News and The Charlotte Observer. Her professional background and commitment to serving Charlotte-Mecklenburg make her ideal for this role, said ASC President Jeep Bryant.

“Susan has brought a broad and deep understanding of the nonprofit community to ASC’s Board,” Bryant said. “We have relied on her expertise as we’ve expanded the number of organizations and individuals we serve. As Chair, her leadership will be invaluable as we plan for ASC’s future investments in arts and culture.”

Patterson acknowledged she is assuming leadership of ASC’s Board at a pivotal moment for the cultural community.

“This is a challenging time for ASC as we explore how best to promote the creative sector in ways that promote an inclusive and equitable community,” said Patterson. “I’m energized, however, by the staff, the board and our stakeholders — all of whom are committed to ensuring our arts, history and science partners, as well as creative individuals, thrive and continue to contribute to the vibrancy of our community.”

New ASC Board members are Katherine Delesalle, a senior associate at Grant Thorton who joins as an ASC Cultural Leadership Training program apprentice; and Gau Gupte, architect and principal at Odell and chair of the Public Art Commission.

View ASC’s full Board of Directors.