2016 ASC Honors Awards Recipients Announced

Categories: News & Media

Awards honor lifetime achievement for artists, scientists, historians and teachers

CHARLOTTE, N.C. (April 5, 2016) – Eight creative and outstanding individuals who have impacted the cultural lives of residents and visitors of the Charlotte-Mecklenburg region through their work will be recognized with ASC Honors Awards celebrating their lifetime achievement.

ASC Honors – Lifetime Achievement in the Fields of Arts, Science or History, given every three years, recognizes exceptionally creative individuals whose contributions have distinguished them and enriched the cultural and social history for Charlotte-Mecklenburg. The 2016 recipients are:

  • Dr. Tom Hanchett (history), author and former Levine Museum of the New South historian who also developed the Community Building Initiative’s bus tours that introduce participants to Charlotte’s historical racial landscape;
  • Tyrone Jefferson (music), executive director and musician with A Sign of the Times of the Carolinas and former music director and trombonist for music legend James Brown;
  • Sonia Handleman Meyer (visual art), a former New York Photo League photographer whose images of social injustice in the 1940s and ’50s were rediscovered in Charlotte;
  • Beverly Penninger (film), a Charlotte native who began her career as a production assistant at WBTV before moving on to create documentaries of regional and national prominence; and
  • Dr. Raphael Tsu (science), a Distinguished Professor at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte and an acknowledged authority and world leader in the areas of quantum properties of materials and device physics.

Career achievement in teaching arts, science and history to students is also recognized through ASC Honors – Cato Lifetime Achievement in Teaching Awards. The 2016 recipients are:

  • Windy Fullagar (arts), band director, Alexander Graham Middle School, Charlotte;
  • Ann Jacob (history), fourth/fifth grade teacher, New Town Elementary, Waxhaw; and
  • Julie McConnell (science), biology teacher, William A. Hough High School, Cornelius.

“Charlotte-Mecklenburg is fortunate to have creative individuals and teachers of this caliber that enrich the cultural lives of everyone in our region and beyond through their work,” said ASC President Robert Bush. “ASC is proud to honor the contributions of artists, scientists, historians and educators whose careers have been marked by creativity, innovation and continuous intellectual exploration.”

The recipients will be honored at a ceremony in April and receive a bronze medallion by North Carolina artist Joanna Goldberg along with a cash award.

ASC Honors – Lifetime Achievement in the Fields of Arts, Science or History was established in 2008 to commemorate the 50th anniversary of ASC. Past recipients are: Jean-Pierre Bonnefoux and Patricia McBride (dance), Steve Crump (history/film), Herb Jackson (visual art), Dr. Francis Robicsek (science/medicine) and Arthur Smith (music) in 2008; and Robert Corbin (science), Clara Jones (music), Wesley Mancini (design), Dr. Dan Morrill (history) and Kathy Reichs (literature) in 2012.

Recipients must have 20 or more years of experience in his/her discipline; currently reside or work in Mecklenburg County and have worked in Mecklenburg for a minimum of five years over his/her career; receive his/her primary income from the chosen discipline; and have been recognized in his/her expert discipline for achievement.

The ASC Honors – Cato Lifetime Achievement in Teaching Awards was established in 2012 through a generous endowment gift from the Cato Corporation. The award, given every three years, honors Pre-K to grade 12 teachers in Cabarrus, Gaston, Iredell, Lincoln, Mecklenburg and Union counties in North Carolina, or Lancaster and York counties in South Carolina. Past recipients are Byron Baldwin (art), Andrew West (history) and Libby Withrow (science).

Recipients have exhibited a career marked by innovation and excellence in teaching the arts, sciences or history or creatively infusing it into the core curriculum; school and community leadership; and dedication to the field of education.

To stay up to date on ASC news and happenings, visit ASC’s website and ASC’s blog, ASCCharlotte.Wordpress.com. Follow ASC on Instagram and Twitter @ASCCharlotte and “Like” on Facebook at Facebook.com/ASCCharlotte.



Bernie Petit